PDA

View Full Version : First Burn on the Akorn to start seasoning

Decoy205
04-18-2015, 08:48 PM
Ok so FINALLY I got a chance to light this thing up. I needed to get the cast iron grate seasoned up and burn off the factory stuff before putting food on. Tomorrow there will be a fatty for sure.

This is my first time using this type of grill. I thought it would be good to share my experience for anyone who might be interested in these cookers.

I bought a bag of Mexican cowboy lump. The pieces were pretty big for the most part.
http://i204.photobucket.com/albums/bb184/decoy205/Eat%20Me/BF0C8674-C124-4016-8457-BDF97DADD4AB_zps56jgmass.jpg (http://s204.photobucket.com/user/decoy205/media/Eat%20Me/BF0C8674-C124-4016-8457-BDF97DADD4AB_zps56jgmass.jpg.html)

http://i204.photobucket.com/albums/bb184/decoy205/Eat%20Me/18B7C5AF-8D61-439B-8DB2-847619FFE76F_zpsyvnmxvgt.jpg (http://s204.photobucket.com/user/decoy205/media/Eat%20Me/18B7C5AF-8D61-439B-8DB2-847619FFE76F_zpsyvnmxvgt.jpg.html)

I had cleaned the greasy stuff off the grate and dried it off good. Made a pile of lump.

http://i204.photobucket.com/albums/bb184/decoy205/Eat%20Me/96F90039-79D1-43DA-A364-F2B0B2068CFA_zpstgftfpdy.jpg (http://s204.photobucket.com/user/decoy205/media/Eat%20Me/96F90039-79D1-43DA-A364-F2B0B2068CFA_zpstgftfpdy.jpg.html)

I used the cotton ball soaked in alcohol to start it up and as others have said this stuff crackles quite a bit when lighting. I only needed a small portion lit to get it going. With the vents fully open It took about 10 mins to get to 150 then I dropped the vent and exhaust down quite a bit. The vent was at about 1 and the exhaust was about 1/4 open. Another 5-10 mins it was around 250-260. I had sprayed the grate with Pam and let it sit at 250 for about an hour. It did not move. It says to season it at around 400 for a while to get the grate nice and hot. So I opened up the vents a bit.