PDA

View Full Version : New to PBC Cooking

beachsmoker19971
04-06-2015, 11:05 AM
I have a PBC coming this week and I am totally new to this style of cooker. I have been using my Weber kettle for years for all of my smoking but wanted the option to do larger amounts of food when I want.

Has anyone cooking on a PBC tried using less that a full basket of charcoal? I am going to start with halved chickens, and that should take around 2 hours. I don't want to have a fire going for a lot longer than I need to. Not really trying to save charcoal, but I don't want to have to monitor the cooker for hours after I am finished my cook.

Thanks

Jack

IslandSmoke
04-06-2015, 11:50 AM
I am going to start with halved chickens, and that should take around 2 hours. I don't want to have a fire going for a lot longer than I need to. Not really trying to save charcoal, but I don't want to have to monitor the cooker for hours after I am finished my cook.

Thanks

Jack

First, Congrats on the new cooker!! The PBC is a workhorse, its portable, and makes excellent bbq!!

At least for chicken....I would recommend to follow Noah's instructions and load the charcoal basket accordingly. His recipes are well rehearsed and has taken a lot of the guess work out fire and time managment.

You can load less charcoal but with that you affect cooking temperature and will lengthen your cook time. You results may vary as well....

Just my $.02.

Aloha!!

Mike Twangzer
04-06-2015, 12:10 PM
Chickens are great but go ahead and toss in a pork butt to use up some fuel. You 'll still have some fuel left over and you won't be disappointed with the butt.

Thingfish
04-06-2015, 12:22 PM
I would recommend using the full basket for the first few cooks. As simple as the PBC is, it does take a few cooks to get fully comfortable and confident before experimenting.