PDA

View Full Version : First overnight Pork Butt on WSM

VERSVS
03-20-2015, 01:29 PM
I need some advice...
Having a party on Sunday around 1pm, I plan to purchase 2 (10lbs) Pork Butts at Sams and throw them on the smoker on Saturday night.

My WSM 22.5 is fairly new and I am still learning how to keep the temps steady, I normally have to mess with the vents every few hours which isn't a big deal, except when I would rather be sleeping...

I use the Minion method, usually about 1/3 of a hot Chimney over a full heaping ring of Kingsford.

I am just looking for a way to be able to get some sleep without waking up every hour to check on the temps but I don't think that's going to happen. Does anyone have any advice, your preferred setup, vent positions, what time should I put these butts on, etc?

I will be investing in a Maverick 733 soon, hopefully the alarm on that thing will help.

DetTigersFan
03-20-2015, 01:38 PM
If you're using blue bag Kingsford and going for a long cook like this I would definitely advise you to stay up and keep somewhat of an eye on your fire/temps. Kingsford blue produces a lot of ash and it will choke your fire off and on for sure on a long cook. I would also start at least a half to three quarters of a chimney of coals and shoot for a higher target temp with a larger load of meat like you're cooking. Also run a dry foiled water pan if you're not already doing so.
I would try to cook around 300, foil both butts when the color looks good and plan for a 10 to 12 hour cook. If they finish early you can always wrap them with foil and towels to hold for a couple hours.

VERSVS
03-20-2015, 01:45 PM