PDA

View Full Version : Egg vs conventional smoker

Smokingbilly
02-05-2015, 05:11 PM
I live in the UK and was planning on buying a Good One Smoker. After shipping, taxes ... The cost of the smoker is over $3000. I can get a top of the line Green Egg for lots less and would really appreciate knowing what experienced smokers think. I am new to this. Thanks.

T&S BBQ
02-05-2015, 05:16 PM
Would it be cheaper to have one built. $3000 is a good bit of money, and the shipping cost could go towards more smoker.

DubfromGA
02-05-2015, 05:19 PM
I'm just a guy who cooks for family & friends.

I've used Kamado grills the past five years and other grills for twenty years prior.

I am smitten with my Kamado Joe Big Joe.

I've been able to cook anything I've ever wanted to cook and been able to go as light or heavy on the smoke as I desire.

Nice moist meat and rock solid temperature control.

rwalters
02-05-2015, 05:41 PM
Pretty much the same story as DubfromGA. I too have a Kamado Joe Big Joe. Cooked on many different "cookers" prior to kamado cooking. IMO, if you are cooking for family and friends, then it doesn't really get any better then kamado style cooking. As already mentioned, there isn't really anything you can't do on a kamado. The temp control is amazing! The food stays moist! They last forever with a warranty to back it! NO rust! They are self-cleaning! And, they are a BLAST to cook on!

Now, if you are looking to compete/travel... that's a whole-nutha story. Transporting kamado's on a regular basis IMO would be a pain.

mchar69
02-05-2015, 05:59 PM
Smokin Billy - the cheap way to start smoking is with a weber 22 inch (50cm) kettle.
Or use an old Drum and make an Ugly Drum Smoker (UDS).
I say go w/ a Weber 22, learn it, live it, love it.
There are many threads here (like AAWA) who get 7, 8, 9 hour smokes from their 22.

Big George's BBQ
02-05-2015, 06:02 PM