PDA

View Full Version : Looking to upgrade from a UDS now what?

Somedayrockstar
10-26-2014, 11:00 PM
So I've been using a UDS for about two years now and have had a lot of successful smokes with it. I was wanting to step up my skills to the next level just wondered what type or kind of smoker I should look into getting. Or is the UDS all i need. I know people compete with them and things. Just want to explore my options. Open to any and all recommendations.

SmittyJonz
10-26-2014, 11:02 PM
Humphreys Battle Box

Somedayrockstar
10-26-2014, 11:05 PM
A few people I know recommend Traeger's and other pellet smokers. Are those cheating and not the same level as other smokers. The people who recommend them aren't as passionate about the Q as me.

THoey1963
10-26-2014, 11:29 PM
Go Pro and get a WSM.

:mrgreen:

LYU370
10-26-2014, 11:50 PM
A few people I know recommend Traeger's and other pellet smokers. Are those cheating and not the same level as other smokers. The people who recommend them aren't as passionate about the Q as me.

I picked up a used FEC-100 earlier this year. LOVE IT! Wish I had gotten one years ago. They're legal in comps, so I don't think there's any cheating going on.

Somedayrockstar
10-27-2014, 12:13 AM
How wood a wsm be much different than a uds? Just better quality?

The humphreys battle box looks nice. Shipping to alaska might be expensive... But definantly gives me some ideas.

As far as traegers and pellet feeds go they just seem a little like cheating to me. But you had good luck with them?

pjtexas1
10-27-2014, 06:03 AM
Being in Alaska I would recommend an insulated cabinet smoker or a gravity feed smoker.

ButtBurner
10-27-2014, 06:06 AM
do you want to tend a fire?

darkoozy
10-27-2014, 06:58 AM
Being in Alaska I would recommend an insulated cabinet smoker or a gravity feed smoker.

Agreed. The insulated cabinet will let you set it and forget it in the cold, for all year bbq.