PDA

View Full Version : Trying to decide between ProQ frontier or WSM in the UK

Stevenscustomguitars
05-19-2014, 06:08 AM
Hi there.

I currently use a 47cm Weber Kettle but would love to add a dedicated smoker. I toyed with the idea of a mini WSM but getting a suitable pot over here makes it a bit pricey.

So.....I'd love to get the tried and tested WSM but over here it's 300 whereas the Pro Q frontier is 190 and has a number of extra features that I like.

What I worry about is build quality of the Pro Q. Now I haven't seen one in the flesh but I see some negatives on forums. Now I don't know if that's for older versions as it seems that the Pro Q guys have listened to feedback and upgraded things over time.

How does the steel thickness build, fit and finish compare on the new models? And are they able to hold stable temps over long periods?

I've only ever used my kettle and I'm fairly new to smoking but to me I can't see any reason why the pro Q wouldn't perform as well as a WSM.

My wife doesn't eat meat but eats fish so the fish hangers on the pro q are interesting. And most of the time I'm only feeding 4-8 people. s i sonde if I should just stick with the kettle? But the thought of not having to add fuel is great.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, when y'all get out of bed that is :wink:

Cheers

Dave

viking72
05-19-2014, 07:18 AM
I am not familiar with the Pro Q, looked it up and it looks like it will work well!
Save some money and buy fish, pig meat ect.

Later,
Doug

J0hn
05-19-2014, 07:45 AM
I purchased a Pro Q Excel 20 about three weeks ago, from Macs BBQ (who threw in some wood samples and a heat glove).

Assembly was straight forward and in less than 30 minutes of it arriving, I was on my first dry run, getting some smoke through it.