PDA

View Full Version : Im sure this one has been beat to death but...

tcv21
05-16-2014, 01:41 PM
For those of you that have stick burners, how many use lump or just plain charcoal to start and get a base for your fire? Im a bit OCD and stick to using wood only and use a weed burner to get it started. Im not against trying the other method but I guess you can say that I am a bit superstitious when it comes to smoking my 'q.

jlane
05-16-2014, 01:48 PM
I use a chimney of charcoal to get things going then add a few sticks. Probably takes longer then using a weed burner but that gives me time to prep the rest of the cook.

Bigr314
05-16-2014, 01:49 PM
I am new to a stick burner. The first few times I tried to use charcoal as a base. Now I do as you do. I only use splits and a weed burner. It seems to work better of me and easier. Plus a lot less ash.

oldbill
05-16-2014, 01:54 PM
I use a chimney of lump and a few splits to start the fire and then maintain it with wood from there on out.
You get a quicker fire with a weed burner and kindling but the lump charcoal gives you an instant coal bed and that is the important thing in reaching and maintaining temps.:-D

QDoc
05-16-2014, 01:58 PM
My stick burner is a Lang 84. I follow Ben's directions but building a big fire in the beginning and bringing the temp up to 300 so I can wash and steam it clean. Then I develop a large coal bed, and gradually close the doors and dampers to my cooking range. I have modified my door by adding an additional vent. and after starting I use this intake vent only, pushing my coal forward and adding sticks in the back to burn backwards toward the intake vent.
ala Minion. When I add a new log I add it at right angle to the cooking chamber and use it to push the coals forward.
Rarely will I add a stick directly on top of the coals. Only if I've let my coal bed get too low.

Yendor
05-16-2014, 02:13 PM