PDA

View Full Version : 30 gal. UDS Help

Highcal
03-07-2014, 12:55 PM
So I'm new to smoking, and have already gotten great info on my other thread, and I apologize for questions that I am sure have already been answered in other threads, but there is sooooooo much info here in this forum, which is great but is also very overwhelming so I hope you all do not mind me picking your brain.

My drum is 18.25" wide and 31.75" tall and I will be using a domed Weber lid. Here are my questions.

1. How far down from the top of the drum do I install my cooking grill ?
2. How high up from the bottom do I make my air inlet holes, and do I make them 3/4 " like people us on a 55gal. drum ?
3. How many air inlets do I need ?
4. How high up from my air inlet holes do I install my charcoal basket ?

Bludawg
03-07-2014, 01:16 PM
So I'm new to smoking, and have already gotten great info on my other thread, and I apologize for questions that I am sure have already been answered in other threads, but there is sooooooo much info here in this forum, which is great but is also very overwhelming so I hope you all do not mind me picking your brain.

My drum is 18.25" wide and 31.75" tall and I will be using a domed Weber lid. Here are my questions.

2. How high up from the bottom do I make my air inlet holes, and do I make them 3/4 " like people us on a 55gal. drum ?

1. 1" below the edge 4" below the top grate 4" below the middle grate
2. the center should be 2" from the bottom Drill 3 1" holes to install 3 3/4" close nipples
3. answered above
4. 4" off the bottom of the drum

Fwismoker
03-07-2014, 01:32 PM
The cooking grate height pretty much depends on what kind of lid you have...Is it gonna be the flat lid or a dome lid?

The charcoal basket just needs to be able to get enough oxygen to it... 3"'s would be a bare minimum, i'd say 4 is best.