PDA

View Full Version : Help! Keeping temperature on a UDS

russianthony
02-06-2014, 01:14 AM
Hello All,

Well I've been trying to smoke some chuck and bottom round roast for a stew..

I was trying to do something close to this:
http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=180806

Anyways... For about 3-4 hours I'm having trouble maintaining even 225-230!!

I am very new to smoking and especially to a UDS. I've probably only smoked 5 briskets in my life, one pork butt, and some chicken. They have all turned out well says all my friends in family so i thought i might attempt something more complex.

The only problem is I can't figure out why I am not getting enough heat.

I reused some charcoal/wood chunks from the last time, used the minion method to light half a chimney full of regular charcoal, once the paper was done burning and the bottom and the coals were hot and a little smokey i went to transfer, then added this to the middle of some older lump + wood chunks. I let it get a little smokey for 1-2 minutes then i laid it in the bottom of my UDS about 1-2 in off the bottom (at least i thought). After the 3 or 4 hours of trying to get the temperature straight, I noticed that the clay pot feet in the bottom of my UDS had knocked over and the fire basket probably wasn't elevated off the bottom at all. (I am getting someone to weld an ash catcher and 3' legs) I think this might have contributed to the lack of heat because not enough air getting to the fire basket. This whole time I was having the hardest time in the world to maintain even 225, luckily my chuck didn't dry out. My UDS would get up to 225, then start dropping down, to the 180s.. I only have on exhaust (3/4 in elbow) as it is because the lid to my UDS lets out enough smoke for 1-2 extra exhaust. I am trying to find a weber lid or a lid clamp to help better seal the lid.