PDA

View Full Version : My first butt

JCQuick
12-31-2013, 05:24 PM
I'm a newb so be easy on me :boxing:
Well my plan is to get up early and throw a 7.5 lb boston butt on my smoker that my wife got me for christmas. Its a smoke hollow propane smoker and I'm aware that its not the greatest but its a start :thumb:
I did a cuck roast last sunday and it came out pretty good :redface: but I have offset smoke cooked those on my grill before so i had something to compare to..

heres some of my questions
The roast I cooked right on the racks but I see a lot of pictures on here in aluminum pans. Am I doing it wrong

Also whats with putting the meat in the cooler. I understand its going to still cook from its IT but i see some that seem to throw it back in

I'm going to use a rub with mustard to hold it on and plan to cook it about 7-8 hours and I think since the wife wants pulled pork I have to cook it at a higher temp.

Ok let the bashing begin:boxing:

Bigrolltide1877
12-31-2013, 06:06 PM
The roast I cooked right on the racks but I see a lot of pictures on here in aluminum pans. Am I doing it wrong
(No you are not doing anything wrong here its just a personal preferences. And it also helps keep the meat moist.)

Also whats with putting the meat in the cooler. I understand its going to still cook from its IT but i see some that seem to throw it back in
(Its to help keep the meat nice and harm when you decide to serve the meat.)

I'm going to use a rub with mustard to hold it on and plan to cook it about 7-8 hours and I think since the wife wants pulled pork I have to cook it at a higher temp.
(You dont need to cook it at a higher temp cook it at 225-250 and until it probes tender IT 200)

DerbyCityQ
12-31-2013, 06:07 PM
Well my plan is to get up early and throw a 7.5 lb boston butt on my smoker that my wife got me for christmas. Its a smoke hollow propane smoker and I'm aware that its not the greatest but its a start :thumb: