PDA

View Full Version : Extend the WiFi distance on CyberQ WiFi

sdbbq1234
12-19-2013, 10:08 PM
Anybody know of a way to extend the distance for the CyberQ WiFi transmit? It seems to be pretty limited and I am hoping that someone has devised a way to boost the power range for it.

Thanks.

Merry Christmas!

wallace

unixadm
12-19-2013, 10:18 PM
For some background, I've been working in Information Technology for the past 17 years. You have a few easy options:

1. Look at replacing your router if it's a bit dated with something more modern. As technology has advanced, so has WIFI. Boosting signal strength with more modern TX/RX antennas does help.
2. If you have a way of running a CAT 5e or CAT 6 cable from your router to a location closer to your "BBQ" area, then you can install an access point on your network. This access point could broadcast (or mask) a wireless SSID that is specific to your CyberQ, however a device on your standard wireless network that has limited range will be able to talk to the CyberQ. That's because all of the devices will be on the same IP subnet.
3. Look at a wireless repeater/extender. This will communicate wirelessly with your router and will basically give you a secondary signaling source closer to your BBQ area. All it needs is to be configured to connect to your existing network as a client and then it will be able to extend your network.

http://www.amazon.com/Amped-Wireless-Wireless-N-Repeater-SR150/dp/B004NBN5UY/ref=sr_1_10?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1387512834&sr=1-10&keywords=wifi+repeater

Ron_L
12-19-2013, 10:23 PM
unixadm is right on.

FWIW, wifi repeaters or range extenders are just OK. Here is a good article that explains why...

http://thewirecutter.com/reviews/best-wi-fi-extender/

dwfisk
12-20-2013, 05:54 AM
Thanks to sdbbq1234 for the OP and the answers. My inhome wifi is fine but my shop/preferred BBQ area is abot 300 ft east of my house, pretty clear shot but a few trees. Do have any hope of extending wifi over that distance?