PDA

View Full Version : Fuel Question: Am I doing it wrong??

Lockon
09-17-2013, 03:05 PM
I have a Char-Griller that I did some mods to (extended the smoke stack to grate level, turned the pan upside down as a quasi heat deflector, modified the offset fuel chamber with a raised grate, etc). I currently get things going with lump coal and then add chunks of wood (the bag stuff from Lowes, ie, Hickory, Apple, etc chunks). I continue to add chunks as the main fuel source for the first couple of hours during a smoke (ribs or brisket), then I tend to just add more lump to try and maintain my temps. Am I doing this wrong, or is what I am doing okay? This winter I am going to cut some trees on my property so I can have "splits" to cook with, but I am no tree expert and trying to figure out what type of trees I have might prove difficult. I am pretty sure most of my trees are oak and hickory.

SmittyJonz
09-17-2013, 03:08 PM
Sounds right to me!

IamMadMan
09-17-2013, 03:11 PM
I have a Char-Griller that I did some mods to (extended the smoke stack to grate level, turned the pan upside down as a quasi heat deflector, modified the offset fuel chamber with a raised grate, etc). I currently get things going with lump coal and then add chunks of wood (the bag stuff from Lowes, ie, Hickory, Apple, etc chunks). I continue to add chunks as the main fuel source for the first couple of hours during a smoke (ribs or brisket), then I tend to just add more lump to try and maintain my temps. Am I doing this wrong, or is what I am doing okay?.

You got the right idea.........

This winter I am going to cut some trees on my property so I can have "splits" to cook with, but I am no tree expert and trying to figure out what type of trees I have might prove difficult. I am pretty sure most of my trees are oak and hickory.

I would use caution trying to burn sticks in the char-griller, it is very thin metal when compared to a real firebox, and it is not really designed to house a fire.

pbj