PDA

View Full Version : Project: Turn Garage Into BBQ Center & Entertaining Area (Pron)

speers90
09-05-2013, 08:28 PM
My wife and I really enjoy entertaining but after each such occasion we always wish we had more space (who doesn't!). About a year ago we decided we were going to do a fairly large addition which would have quadrupled our kitchen/entertaining space. Being a general contractor I drew up all the plans and pulled the permits but we kept holding off because while we really wanted that addition, the truth is we didn't really need it. Our modest kitchen is fine for daily living which makes up at least 95% of the time.

Then we went to a friends 40th birthday party which was held in his mostly finished garage, that is when we knew we could do something similar and get the most bang for our buck!

It all started by cleaning out the garage (sorry no pics) and then having a drywall guy come in to do the mudding. I am a general contractor but that is one trade that I NEVER do myself! Next we painted the walls, that were already completely insulated.

Installed some flooring. I went with a rigid plastic tile that snaps together. It had very high remarks, the only negative that I read about it was that it creaks when walked or drove on, but that is easily solved by adding a couple layers of landscaping fabric underneath.
http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/picture.php?albumid=774&pictureid=7818

http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/picture.php?albumid=774&pictureid=7819

Then it was time to put up a 14" x 96" stainless shelf to hold most of my barbecuing necessities.
http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/picture.php?albumid=774&pictureid=7820

Next I put it two stainless steel tables, the one with the back splash is 30" x 60" the other is 30" x 72". I still need to level the tables. I made sure each table had an underneath shelf so I had somewhere to store the bigger barbecuing necessities.
http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/picture.php?albumid=774&pictureid=7822