PDA

View Full Version : Please help me understand this brisket cook

markrvp
08-08-2013, 04:27 PM
I've been doing briskets for 2 or 3 years now and they never seem to take as long as I think they are supposed to. This morning I put on a 13 pound packer brisket at 8AM. I had trimmed the fat on the brisket so that there is about a 1/4" fat cap and the other side is clean of fat. The brisket starting temperature was 40 degrees and I had slathered it with mustard and applied Bovine Bold Rub. The cooker is a Large Big Green Egg and the starting temperature of the cooker was 250 degrees. The ambient temperature today is around 92-95 degrees. I trimmed the fat on the brisket so that there is about a 1/4" fat cap and the other side is clean of fat.

I've attached a Stoker Log graphic below. The gasket on my BGE is worn out, so I noticed some creep up in the chamber temp from 250 to 268 at about an hour and a half. I just let it do it's thing and it settled back down to 250 at the 4 hour mark. The meat temp rose steadily and went from 40 to 165 in 3 hours. It stalled at 165 for 2 hours at which point I pulled it and wrapped it in foil. I poked the flat with my finger and it was firm. I put it back in and kicked the temp up to 275. In less than an hour the flat temp hit 195. I knew it couldn't be done so let it go another hour at which time the meat temp reached 205. I probed the flat and it was very tender in some places, but not evenly. I let it go another hour and probed again. Only one place gave any resistance, so I've let it go another 30 minutes so far.

I am noticing that the meat hit a second stall at 205 and has been like that for an hour and a half. My total cook time so far is 8 hours, 20 minutes. Based on the general outline here, shouldn't it take at least 12 hours? I feel like this brisket is pretty much done now, but am I right?