PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here, some injection syringe questions

illwillmu50
05-30-2013, 04:41 PM
First off, I just joined here yesterday and would like to say thank you to everyone here... ive been reading for a while and have learned a TON. All my cooks have gone off really well and everyone says its the best.

I plan on cooking for people at work tomorrow.. 10lb and 7 lb, lilly's injection and standard rub. My question is about how everyone cleans their injection syringe. I guess im a little concerned, since my wife made the point that im jabbing raw meat with a needle and better clean it well between cooks.

I do clean them but lets say I forget to clean well one time. Do you think some bacteria could grow to something nasty and comtaminate? Ill be cooking to 200 for pull pork, which im told should kill eveything, but wanted your guys opinion (or ease my concerns :grin:) The last thing I want to do is bring down my department at work due to bad food and run a less than flattering reputation :oops:

Again, thanks to you all for the awesome advice in the past. Glad to be here!

boogiesnap
05-30-2013, 05:10 PM
i suck in some hot soap and water from a cup, shake, and squeeze out. 3 or 4 times. never had an issue.

oh, and a rinse suck and squeeze or 2 after.

oh, oh....wecolme!

popeye
05-30-2013, 07:19 PM
i suck in some hot soap and water from a cup, shake, and squeeze out. 3 or 4 times. never had an issue.

oh, and a rinse suck and squeeze or 2 after.

oh, oh....wecolme!

that is what i do . Just make sure the water is hot. Ad yes welcome

njfoses
05-30-2013, 07:26 PM
Remember if you are injecting you must get the meat to 140 within 4 hours. I clean mine just like boogiesnap and then wipe with an alcohol wipe.

boogiesnap
05-30-2013, 07:35 PM
Remember if you are injecting you must get the meat to 140 within 4 hours. I clean mine just like boogiesnap and then wipe with an alcohol wipe.

i've never heard that.

Rookie06
05-30-2013, 07:44 PM