PDA

View Full Version : Calibration of Judges

accuseal
05-25-2013, 01:55 PM
I'm a bit new at this but I am a CBJ and have cooked my first contest. It seems to me that judges could be calibrated by taking their scores and after a few contests, giving them a report on how they stack up against the rest of the judging population. I remember the first time I judged being paranoid about whether I was in line with the others or was going to be #6 that was thrown out. Just had an experience where I got horribly inconsistent judging. How can you get 999866 ? Other folks at the same contest had similar observations. I think a calibration tool for the judges would go a long way towards fairness and objectivity. Has this ever been considered? Or was it too time consuming and / or expensive. I have been involved with Statistical Process Control for years in a manufacturing environment. It seems to me that Judges falling outside of standard deviation should be informed; whether high or low.

drbbq
05-26-2013, 12:01 PM
IMO that's the kind of thinking that is needed. But no cooks ever want to accept anything but 8-9 and an occasional 7 so all that's ever done is nudging judges into using only the top three numbers. No point in trying to sort that out. I'm guessing a real statistician would want to use most of the scale.

Smoke'n Ice
05-26-2013, 02:58 PM
Rumor has it that the new "Score" program, while very limited in its ability, has this as a feature. Can't keep track of coment cards, hence their elimination, but it can compare judges and tables. Remember this is just rumor and maybe some one on the software committee could post the SRS if they exist.

carlyle
05-26-2013, 03:21 PM
Not on the committee or the board. I was there at Kansas City in January when there was a presentation about the new program.

New software is supposed to track judges. That is why score cards now have table and seat number plus judge number.