PDA

View Full Version : Building new roaster-interior cubic feet/vent ratios?

Pigdude
05-17-2013, 01:03 PM
Hey all. I am a noob as of last night to BBQ Brethern. Tomorrow I start a build of my first roaster. Nothin like the promise of flat steel and 2 tanks of welding gas. I have plans to build with 7 GAUGE! Stainless steel 304, double wall insulated. Box to be 4x6x30" tall (60 cubic feet). Domed top to be 4x6x24" tall (35 cubic feet). 2 charcoal trays at front/back, 16 inches from grill grate. Trays will be 8-12 inches wide, 3 inches deep, 6' long. Weight estimate is 1500 lbs. Code named: FrankenRoaster. http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/images/icons/icon7.gif

My question is: Does anyone have advice on the ratio of interior cubic feet of roaster and air intake vents and chimney diameter for exhaust... in say square inches?

Thanks for sharing the Tribal Knowledge!!!!

-PigDude

HankB
05-17-2013, 03:03 PM
I would go to a local store and measure the vents on a Weber cooker and calculate the inlet and exhaust vent area for the given volume. That should give you a starting point.

IMO, better to have a little too much than not enough. You did say roaster vs. smoker.

Also be aware that:

A stack will give you increased draft and air flow.
A large hole will flow more air than several small holes of the same area.

Also consider the mass of metal you are heating. 7 Gauge is pretty thick so you will have a lot of metal to heat to get it to temperature. Insulation will help keep the heat up so you will not need that much to keep it going. You might consider using thinner material on the inside to facilitate quicker heat up.

HTH

pbj
05-17-2013, 03:05 PM
http://www.feldoncentral.com/bbqcalculator.html

Pigdude
05-17-2013, 04:57 PM
PBJ- This is so close to what I am looking for. HOWEVER, this link is to calculate the cooker box to Firebox ratio.
I was looking to determine the Roaster box ratio to vent size(s) (and chimney diameter) I would need in square inches.