PDA

View Full Version : Cowpooling

MeatyOakerSmoker
05-17-2013, 12:38 PM
I know this topic came up once before but since it's been a few years it's worth asking again.

Anyone have any experience with "cowpooling"? I decided I'm going to buy a fore quarter from a farmer and wanted to see if anyone else has done this.

DerHusker
05-17-2013, 01:02 PM
I have no experience with it but I believe they aren’t really great swimmers and would really mess up the pool. :caked: :bounce::behindsofa:

Teamfour
05-17-2013, 01:12 PM
I could probably fit three cows in my truck, but I have never seen any cows working downtown.

kaosfury
05-17-2013, 01:28 PM
I buy a split side about once a year. I'm not sure what kind of deal you have worked out, but I like the split because I can get all kinds of cuts.

Teltum
05-17-2013, 01:55 PM
I looked into it and it seems like a decent deal, but only if you go through a lot of ground beef.

I a fair amount of ground but not enough to make it worth a half or a quarter of a cow.

Pyrotech
05-17-2013, 02:13 PM
If I had the room I would buy a side of Beef. Growing up my family would buy a side of Beef, and a hog each year to fill the freezer.

lack of freezer space is the only thing stopping me

MeatyOakerSmoker
05-17-2013, 02:45 PM
I buy a split side about once a year. I'm not sure what kind of deal you have worked out, but I like the split because I can get all kinds of cuts.

I got grass fed beef, front quarter, for about $3.50 a pound. I would do a half cow but that's serious freezer space.

I looked into it and it seems like a decent deal, but only if you go through a lot of ground beef.

I a fair amount of ground but not enough to make it worth a half or a quarter of a cow.

I was worried about that a bit but at $3.50 a pound I can hardly get grass fed ground beef for that much around here!

dwfisk
05-17-2013, 05:44 PM