PDA

View Full Version : Wondering about heat loss

boiler93
04-04-2013, 09:24 PM
I have a new offset reverse flow smoker and i have very little experience Qing on this size rig. I feel like I'm losing too much heat from the smoker door. How much smoke/heat can you expect to be loss from here and are there any quick mods to remedy the situation?

Related problem(??) is that it takes about an hour for the temp to reach 225 with the box full of oak sticks and can't seem to get higher than about 240.

The smoker itself measures 36x60 and the firebox measures 20x 24.

Any and all help is appreciated!

El Ropo
04-04-2013, 09:30 PM
you haven't mentioned how much intake you are giving it. Franklin actually cracks his firebox doors open to allow more oxygen to get to the fire.

Many less than perfect offset COS cookers don't have large enough intake holes to allow for good draft. Easy solution is to crack the firebox door open and get a nice small clean fire goin.

On the smoker door, I'm sure it'll help to keep it closed. If there are signs of huge leaks in the door, a gasket kit might help.

Pyle's BBQ
04-04-2013, 09:33 PM
How big are the sticks you are starting with? You will have heat loss, but an hour is not that long to get to temp. Have you calibrated the thermometer so you know that it is accurate?

boiler93
04-04-2013, 09:46 PM
I have three nice sized air intakes: 2 on the side and 1 in the rear. I have not tested the accuracy of the thermometer but that is first on my list this weekend.

The sticks that i'm using are about 18 inches. Where can I locate a gasket kit if this ends up being the issue?

Bludawg
04-04-2013, 10:33 PM