PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Intro & Grill Brush Question For A WGA

Giselle
03-09-2013, 08:34 PM
Hi, This is my first post. I'm new to the forum and new to grilling. I love to cook but I've only grilled steaks a couple of times on my parents tiny 50 year old hibachi. I've never grilled burgers not even hot dogs. I'm ready to learn. I want to work up to making real BBQ. I'm a PRO at ordering BBQ but I want to learn to make it... eventually. :biggrin1:

After seeing one in action at the beach, then reading this forum and surfing the web I decided the "Go Anywhere" would best fit my needs at this time so I bought one. It's small and portable and there are two of us most of the time, sometimes four. It's something to learn on.

After a friends remodel I was given a new, unused carbon steel wire "scratch" brush with a wood handle. Is thatok to use on the WGA cooking and coal grills? I looked through the forum and didn't see any posts that addressed my question. I wanted to ask before messing up my new toy.

Thanks for any and all help.

edit: Just saw the description under my name. Funny and accurate!

HankB
03-09-2013, 10:13 PM
Congrats on the WGA. I never bother to brush the coal grate - just knock the ashes off it. That brush will probably be fine for the cooking grate.

I have no direct experience with the WGA but I know there are others here who make very good use of it.

Welcome to the site.

Hoss
03-09-2013, 11:05 PM
Welcome.The coolest thing about this place is variety of cookers /techniques used.That is NOT gunk on the grates,it is seasoning.Fire that puppy up,the heat will kill anything unuseful/unhealthy. Post some cookin pron.Search PHUBAR for posts for WGA .In my opinion,he is the MASTER of those tiny,marshmallow roasters! :grin:

mbshop
03-10-2013, 12:17 AM
i now use a stainless steel painter brush for most of my grates including the cast iron ones. i gave up on everything else.