PDA

View Full Version : Knife question

Plaid Palace
02-03-2013, 07:06 PM
I am fairly new to this hardcore BBQing.

I have a knife set that was given to me as a wedding gift 3 years ago. Probably a 50-60 dollar set from Bed Bath and Beyond. It works great for cutting veggies up but this weekend I tried to slice chicken wings and ribs up using the knife. It got the job done but not very well.

So I am looking on Amazon, trying to find a deal on something. Any suggestions? What type of knife am I looking for? All I have typed in, is "knife" but is what I am looking a "butchers knife"?

72challorange
02-03-2013, 07:16 PM
I use a basic sharpener from harbor freight and can get my cheap knife set very sharp.

But in any case these two brands are excellent-Wüsthof, Henckels

HeSmellsLikeSmoke
02-03-2013, 07:18 PM
What s your budget?

Plaid Palace
02-03-2013, 07:19 PM
What s your budget?

For something I can buy tonight...

as low as possible. Under $15. Hoping to score a deal on something that might of been used on Amazon.

Later, I hope to get something over $50 but for now something cheap will have to do.

yakdung
02-03-2013, 07:20 PM
I use two old hickory knives I found on the floor of my parents garage. Remember it is about the BBQ not all the fancy gadgets for sale. Good luck.
http://youtu.be/1X4GwCjRM8k
Amazon.com: Old Hickory Butcher Knife.: Sports & Outdoors

http://www.ebay.com/itm/New-Ontario-Old-Hickory-7-Butcher-Cutlery-Knife-USA-/270839837839?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3f0f4ff48f

HeSmellsLikeSmoke
02-03-2013, 07:23 PM
In that case I recommend the $9 AccuSharp knife sharpener and the knives you already have while you take your time researching this.

Amazon.com: AccuSharp 001 Knife Sharpener: Home Improvement

Pyle's BBQ
02-03-2013, 07:29 PM
Try typing chef's knife. You are not going to find anything decent for $15. The Vitroniox(sp) that comes up on Amazon would be a good starter. I know it is $30, but it will be a good all around knife for you.