PDA

View Full Version : Smokers

charliec333
01-09-2006, 02:32 PM
I would like to know which smoker a beginner should get and the best place to buy it in Northern California (Mother Lode).

Charlie

The_Kapn
01-09-2006, 03:16 PM
I would like to know which smoker a beginner should get and the best place to buy it in Northern California (Mother Lode).

Charlie

Charlie,
I am no expert, but have Que'd on a good range of smokers.

The Weber Smokey Mountain (WSM) is, by far, the ultimate "first smoker" in my opinion.
And, it will stay with you even as you buy bigger ones later on.
Easy, predictable, and produces a quality product.
I use my WSM all the time and my Dera is getting jealous http://bbq-brethren.com/forum/images/smilies/icon_evil.gif

$249 on Amazon. Normally no shipping or tax.
Price just spiked up from $199 or so, but still heck of a deal for a quality smoker that is almost "goof-proof".

JMHO

Get over to Cattle Call and say "HI".
We don't bite, most of the time anyway http://bbq-brethren.com/forum/images/smilies/icon_biggrin.gif

TIM

Ron_L
01-09-2006, 03:22 PM
Tim is right (of course! :-D ). The WSM is easy to learn and produces great food. It will hold a coupl eof good sized briskets, 8 or more slabs of ribs (either rolling them or using rib backs, and I have seen guys cooking as many as 6 pork butts. Its also almost hands-off for long overnight cooks.

If you don't like buying online, do you have an Ace Hardware nearby? A lot of Ace stores carry the WSM (Weber Smokey Mountain Cooker) or can get one for you. You can also check on eBay.

BBQchef33
01-09-2006, 03:26 PM
hes a discussion that may help.

http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=13408

it evaluates the WSM and the veticals like the bandera and smoke king, but really appllies to the technique you prefer.... An offset stick burner, or a set and forget rig. There are other questions that can help us answer you better.

1 - whats your budget?