PDA

View Full Version : Completely new to Slow and Low

myki
12-15-2012, 12:33 PM
Hi Everyone,
I am new to smoking and have a couple of questions. I've been lurking for a while and am super excited to finally give this a try :becky:. I recently acquired a chargriller duo 5500. I have created a baffle and used a cookie sheet with freshly drilled holes to direct the heat/smoke. My questions are: 1. Do you soak your wood chips before using them? 2. Do you wait till the charcoal is white before adding wood? 3. What do you do if the fire/heat goes out? 4. Any suggestions on my first Q?
Thanks for the help!
Mike

Bludawg
12-15-2012, 12:52 PM
Use Chunks not chips don't soak
I don't use Charcoal in my smoker I burn sticks Would you burn regular gas in a Corvette?
If the fire goes out it's your fault sort of difficult to make BBQ without one
First cook Pork Butt.
275 is the new 225

myki
12-15-2012, 01:10 PM
Gotcha. Looked up Chris Lilly's Pork Butt recipe and will use sticks instead of charcoal. As far as the fire, I know not to let it go out. LOL! I mis-typed. Any tips on keeping the temps consistent when adding wood? My worry is the temp going down as the fire burns and spiking up when adding wood. From what I've gathered lurking, open vents to heat up and close vents to decrease heat. Sound right? Is it the same with the smokestack on top or should I keep it open at all times? Again, thanks for the help and sorry if these are ridiculous questions!

Bluesman
12-15-2012, 01:31 PM
For your first smoke keep it ssimple.
1.) No injections...ZERO
2.) Find a rub you like the taste of and DON'T overdo it
3.) Keep top vent full open throughout entire cook
4.) use a few small chunks of apple and or cherry, more is not better
5.) Wait until the colas have lit the wood and you have a nice thin blue smoke
6.) Add the meat
7.) cook until a wooden skewer probes through EVERYWERE like Buttah
8.) Double wrap in foil, put in a warm cooler and cover with a towel