PDA

View Full Version : Diff in backwoods and pitmaker vaults

jeremy0510
11-13-2012, 01:18 PM
Know this probably has been beat to death but I'm fairly new to this. We are in the market for a new smoker to use at competitions and at home and I thought I had my mind set on a backwoods smoker. I've recently seen the pitmaker vaults and really like them. Are there any real big differences in these brands? I'm a lot closer to the backwoods factory than pitmaker though. Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks. Jeremy

Teamfour
11-13-2012, 01:46 PM
Did you read this recent thread?

http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=146880

I am not trying to bash Pitmaker here. But, I have never seen that much discussion regarding issues with a Backwoods. Yes I own a BWS, but I also looked at Pitmakers. I then visited a couple of BBQ competitions and found many BWS being used but no Pitmakers (at least at the comps I went to).

Read the link above and also search for BWS issues. I think you will be able to make an informed decision.

Forgot to add: WHO DAT from a former Louisianian.

DawgPhan
11-13-2012, 02:16 PM
isnt that thread just one person who is having problems holding temps. I would imagine that is fairly common with all the smokers are one point or another...uinless you get a kudzu kooker....60% of the time it works every time.

Teamfour
11-13-2012, 02:37 PM
isnt that thread just one person who is having problems holding temps. I would imagine that is fairly common with all the smokers are one point or another...uinless you get a kudzu kooker....60% of the time it works every time.

Yes that specific thread is about one owner. However the additional thread linked to in that post is six pages long and has many other owners lamenting on the temp control issue.

Personally I think the Pitmakers are amazingly constructed. I just decided to go with a BWS based in research and observation.