PDA

View Full Version : High heat butts NOT a disaster...

lastmajordude
11-04-2012, 07:30 AM
I'm still learning fire management on my Used Jambo. Yesterday was just one of those days with 2 five pound butts...was banking a longer cook but my heat was high (got to get smaller splits and wait till temp gets lower). Much of the time my heat 300 deg with some big swings.....sort of like that Bama/LSU game....point is at 160 foiled, then at 196 pulled WAY TO EARLY ...company coming hours later. I put the foiled butts in the oven on warm for several hours ...like how I have read on here about doing a Brisket......low and behold.....my ballgame guest were gushing over the moisture and tenderness. Flavor lacked a little something but i figure that's my fault somewhere. So just wanted to relay thanks for the info on here...I didn't freak as I would have in the past and they turned out very well ...........

Boshizzle
11-04-2012, 07:36 AM
Congrats! Pork butt cooks well at low and high temps. Just pick one and go with it. Some people even have success starting low and then cranking up to high heat later in the cook.

The key for best results is, just don't let temps spike then drop, spike then drop, etc., etc. Just maintain consistency in temp. If you cook low n slow, keep temps low. If you cook hot n fast, keep temps hot. If you start low and finish high, keep the low temp period low and the high temp period high.

Bludawg
11-04-2012, 08:54 AM
I've got an 8 lber in the UDS cruising at 300 as I type I'll never cook one below 275 ever again.

Ole Man Dan
11-05-2012, 03:01 PM
There's a lot to be said for hot & fast. Attention to detail and it's good.
Lack of attention and it won't matter if its low and slow or hot and fast...

When I converted over I've never looked back. Don't take nearly as long either. Nowadays my low is closer to 275°. I like Beef and Pork around 300°
and Chicken around 325-350°.