PDA

View Full Version : I may be banned for this...

dealm9
09-10-2012, 08:50 PM
Dear Brethren forgive me for I am about to sin:tsk:,
http://i1237.photobucket.com/albums/ff469/dealm9/IMAG0065.jpg

What you are seeing is not an illusion. A 9lb pork shoulder will be cooking in a crock pot tomorrow. I never thought I would put crock pot and pork shoulder in the same sentence, but I am at school and I am not allowed to bring my smoker. I go to school in the Bronx and live in campus apartments so there is no getting around it. I would rather have crock pot pulled pork, however, than no pulled pork so I am breaking out the crock pot for my first ever pulled pork cook in a crock pot.

Since it is my first time, I have some questions (please do not be embarrassed to answer them, no on will judge you :roll:). I plan on using my maverick to monitor the internal temp. This is probably a stupid question but I am still looking for the same internal temp of the pork in a crock pot as I would a smoker right? Also, I was not planning on adding any liquid because I am assuming that the rendering of the fat will supply all the liquid it needs and that I want. Is this okay? There is a low and high heat temp setting on my crock. Time won't really be an issue since I will be up at 0430 tomorrow anyway so if it were you what temp setting would you go with?