PDA

View Full Version : Shelf life of wood chunks?

Kirk
08-24-2012, 09:25 AM
I have some wood chunked up for smoking that has to be at least 6 yrs old and I'm wondering if the fragrant quality of them will be diminished? Also wondering if I should soak them for a while before I use them or if I should just use them as is. Opinions?

NivekD
08-24-2012, 09:41 AM
They should be fine. As long as there is no mold. I never soak my wood. Why dry it out and then get it wet again? :noidea:

MS2SB
08-24-2012, 12:54 PM
Shouldn't be any downside to having something seasoned for that long.

fweck
08-24-2012, 01:47 PM
As a carpenter I have cut wood close to a hundred years old, and it smells the same as wood that was logged 6 months ago. Shouldn't be anything wrong with it.

deguerre
08-24-2012, 01:50 PM
I do believe the question has been answered.

Kirk
08-24-2012, 05:27 PM
Normally I wouldn't consider soaking them but I used some last weekend and I hardly got any smoke from my WSM, even though I put more than the normal amount of chunks in there. I think it may have had more to do with way the fire was lit. Instead of dumping 15 hot coals or on top of the basket, my buddy did a good half a chimney. Normally I sneak up on 250-275 over a half hour or so but it only took a couple minutes this time. I think things were just burning too fast to give me good smoke.

I guess the real lesson is here, if I have wood chunks laying around for that long, I'm not smoking enough. I have all kinds of stuff to use up. Guava, apple, cherry, mesquite, hickory, pecan... I better get at it.

IamMadMan
08-24-2012, 07:13 PM
There is no real shelf life as long as the wood has never molded or had fungus growing on it. Would you loose a little bit of smoke on 6 year old wood? Who knows, I am sure it would be negligible if any at all.

I would never soak wood before using, you could create poor combustion and possibly make the food slightly bitter.

Chef Jim
08-24-2012, 07:23 PM
Use it!!!!!

Kirk