PDA

View Full Version : Meat prep at home

nucornhusker
08-08-2012, 09:50 PM
I am new to the competition game, and I'm actually doing my first comp in a week. I know you can trim your meats at home before hand (at least for now) and save you that time on the cook site. My question is how do you wrap them once you have them trimmed? Do you just wrap them in shrink wrap and a ziplock bag? I assume you can't use foil because the inspector needs to be able to see your food.

What do you do so you don't have any problems with the inspector?

Thank you in advance!

Jason TQ
08-08-2012, 10:05 PM
2.5 gallon zip lock bags for ribs and butts. I can get 4 racks of ribs in a bag and 2 butts in a bag. 1 gallon zip lock bag for chicken. Brisket I have been trimming on site, but the 2.5 works well for those too. You can also vacuum seal if you have a sealer. They might be Hefty brand.

Doorbusters
08-08-2012, 10:11 PM
Every contest I have done you cannot touch the meat until it is inspected. Of course that was several years ago so maybe that has changed. Below is what KCBS has in the rules book, kind of open to interpretation.

7) All competition meats shall be inspected by the Official
Meat Inspector during the times established by the contest
organizer but not prior to the day before judging. Once the
competition meat has been inspected, it shall not leave the
contest site. Cooking shall not begin until the competition
meat has been inspected by the Official Meat Inspector. All
competition meat shall start out raw. No pre-seasoned meat
is allowed other than manufacturer enhanced or injected
products, as shown on label EXCLUDING but not limited to:

jbrink01
08-08-2012, 10:20 PM
You can do anything EXCEPT inject or season. The requirement that it be in the cryovac is a fallacy.

K-Train
08-08-2012, 10:43 PM