PDA

View Full Version : Newbie needs help with smoking.

ntbushwick
08-06-2012, 01:11 PM
Hello everyone. First post here. I'm new to smoking but I know my way around a grill pretty well. I purchased an 18" WSM a month ago and have used to half a dozen times already to smoke pork spare ribs. I'm using Royal Oak lump charcoal and a few pecan wood chunks. Anyway, I simply cannot get the ribs to taste "good". I usually smoke until the meat pulls away from the bone...I have no problem getting them tender. They just do not taste all that good. Mostly they taste like that unpleasant smoke taste...not like the great flavor in some smoked ribs I have had. Generally I use the minimalist approach and go with simply a good salt and pepper combination but my results are less than stellar. I'm beginning to wonder if I simply do not like the taste of smoked ribs? Or perhaps I am using too much wood or not enough? Any thoughts, tips or tricks?

Thanks again.

Stoke&Smoke
08-06-2012, 01:15 PM
You need to make sure you have a clean fire. No white thick billowing smoke. Just clean thin blue. Don't use a ton of wood either. I would start with straight lump and see how you like that!

BTW...go say hello in cattle call if you haven't already. And welcome!

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I897 using Tapatalk 2

str8upcop04
08-06-2012, 01:21 PM
I've found that if I let my fire settle in for about 10 minutes or so the smoke is nice and thin blue smoke such as Stoke&Smoke has suggested. Also I use about 2 or 3 fist size chunks for meat and fewer for poultry. Keep a smokers journal and document every step for each cook. It helps......trust me and was one of the better suggestions made to me here on this forum. Good luck and keep with it.

-Justin

mr dirts bbq
08-06-2012, 01:28 PM
You need to make sure you have a clean fire. No white thick billowing smoke. Just clean thin blue. Don't use a ton of wood either. I would start with straight lump and see how you like that!