PDA

View Full Version : How long is your probe?


charrederhead
07-19-2012, 01:24 PM
:biggrin1:

Now that I've acquired an appropriate lid for my SSPerformer, I need to get the corresponding thermometer.

I was hoping the therm. out my old (Genesis?) gasser would fit, but no go.

So, Performer owners, how long is your probe?

PatAttack
07-19-2012, 01:27 PM
Shouldn't this be in the Woodpile??:laugh:

MAP
07-19-2012, 01:28 PM
Do you want to know what it actualy is or what I tell my wife it is?

likeadeere
07-19-2012, 01:31 PM
Depends on what mirror I'm using....:shocked:

bigabyte
07-19-2012, 01:32 PM
Mine has a clip you can use to slide up and down the shaft allowing you to choose the ideal penetration depth.

likeadeere
07-19-2012, 01:36 PM
Mine has a clip you can use to slide up and down the shaft allowing you to choose the ideal penetration depth.

OMG.....:hail: Beautifully said.

charrederhead
07-19-2012, 01:40 PM
Mine has a clip you can use to slide up and down the shaft allowing you to choose the ideal penetration depth.

Lol.

I forgot to add that, since I've never inspected an attached probe before, I'm not sure how far the tip goes into the lid hole.

When I used the gasser probe, it seemed to butt up against something. Is it supposed to go through that little hole?

deguerre
07-19-2012, 01:42 PM
When I get home, I can measure mine. The one in my performer lid anyway.

Pappy
07-19-2012, 02:50 PM
When I get home, I can measure mine. The one in my performer lid anyway.

Do you measure when it is hot or cold?

1FUNVET
07-19-2012, 02:54 PM
Seems to be longer in the summer. :becky:

slow-smoker
07-19-2012, 02:55 PM
Hot of course... You know about shrinkage, don't ya? :becky:

MS2SB
07-19-2012, 03:20 PM
Depends if its been in the pool.

deguerre
07-19-2012, 03:33 PM
We're still in Q-Talk.:thumb:

deguerre
07-19-2012, 03:39 PM
OK, serious answer time. The Weber thermo in my Performer's dome has a probe length of 5 1/4" from the nut to the tip. :rolleyes:

charrederhead
07-19-2012, 03:41 PM
OK, serious answer time. The Weber thermo in my Performer's dome has a probe length of 5 1/4" from the nut to the tip. :rolleyes:

thank u.

now, does the tip go into the little hole in the lid? seriously!

deguerre
07-19-2012, 03:45 PM
It slides right into the little hole in the housing right under the handle. I kinda have to jiggle it a little to get it all the way in. Wait. That didn't sound right...

Here's a pic of what mine looks like

http://www.productwiki.com/upload/images/weber_performer.jpg

bigabyte
07-19-2012, 03:49 PM
I have trouble deciding which hole to put it through on my OTS. I always wind up in the exhaust though.

Lake Dogs
07-19-2012, 06:39 PM
My probe has always been long enough to please ME.

Wampus
07-19-2012, 06:48 PM
I have trouble deciding which hole to put it through on my OTS. I always wind up in the exhaust though.

:shock:

:tape:


My wife says mine is just the right size. Although, I'm not sure how many probes she's worked with in the past. And she didn't really have any relationships with anyone who is as serious about their probes as I am.

:becky:

Conlan
07-19-2012, 07:21 PM
I'm Irish so i'll pass on this one :biggrin1:

Jbomb
07-19-2012, 07:47 PM
You guys are a trip.

charrederhead
07-19-2012, 08:07 PM
It slides right into the little hole in the housing right under the handle. I kinda have to jiggle it a little to get it all the way in. Wait. That didn't sound right...

Here's a pic of what mine looks like

http://www.productwiki.com/upload/images/weber_performer.jpg

ok. i know my probe should go in the little hole...lol...in the "high" end of the housing, but where does the tip of my probe rest? There is a little slot in the dome itself- does the probe go into it?

Garman
07-19-2012, 08:08 PM
The first time I stuck my probe into my performer, it exclaimed, "JESUS CHRIST"! I guess it was the longest probe that was ever put in there! LOL :pound:

Bluesman
07-19-2012, 08:21 PM
DO NOT............PUT your Probe in the wrong Hole. You may never have get to do it again............
http://youtu.be/y69UfuA9iTQ

El Ropo
07-19-2012, 08:30 PM
OK, serious answer time. The Weber thermo in my Performer's dome has a probe length of 5 1/4" from the nut to the tip. :rolleyes:

So it's just under "average" lol.

BobM
07-19-2012, 08:42 PM
:rolleyes:

NBBD
07-19-2012, 09:07 PM
DO NOT............PUT your Probe in the wrong Hole. You may never have get to do it again............


hahahahahahahaaaaaa

My longest probe is 12".... shortest is 2..... hmmmm

mattdean1003
07-19-2012, 09:58 PM
I have sat here and laughed...and laughed...and laughed...until I'm hurting.

Probe for temp is 4 inches...probe for smoker is a turkey probe. It's funny, when I was cooking a round roast a few weeks ago, one of my buddies saw me stick the probe into the roast and without skipping a beat, asked me why I was probing the meat.

Pappy
07-19-2012, 10:36 PM
There is a little slot in the dome itself- does the probe go into it?

The tip of the probe is inside the lid.

Mattman
07-20-2012, 12:36 AM
The preferred length of probe would likely depend on what one is cooking.

When dealing with a racks, probe size is less important and you can just lay the probe within the racks.

Now when dealing with a butt, most prefer a slightly smaller probe as one too large can irritate the butt.

As we must work with the tools we have, any size probe you have will work. Just remember to slightly moisten the probe before insertion and all will be good.

deguerre
07-20-2012, 06:26 AM
ok. i know my probe should go in the little hole...lol...in the "high" end of the housing, but where does the tip of my probe rest? There is a little slot in the dome itself- does the probe go into it?

Yep. When I tried to re-insert last evening, I had the same trouble you did as the probe wanted to butt up against the back of the housing. Had to hold the housing down with one hand and manipulate the probe until it slid all the way in.

And there's no farking way to say that without it sounding um, risque, as it were.:becky:

charrederhead
07-20-2012, 07:53 AM
ok, so i may need to hold my probe and give it a wiggle/jiggle to guide it all the way into the correct hole. First i need to measure mine to see if it's the same length as yours.

thanks all! :clap:

Lake Dogs
07-20-2012, 07:55 AM
Yep. When I tried to re-insert last evening, I had the same trouble you did as the probe wanted to butt up against the back of the housing. Had to hold the housing down with one hand and manipulate the probe until it slid all the way in.

And there's no farking way to say that without it sounding um, risque, as it were.:becky:

And folks wonder why we give our smokers female names...

big brother smoke
07-20-2012, 09:39 AM
Question is do you need glasses to measure your probe ? :twisted:

deguerre
07-20-2012, 09:42 AM
Question is do you need glasses to measure your probe ? :twisted:

Why yes. Demagnifyers in fact. :whistle: