PDA

View Full Version : ROLLING the DICE at BBQ comps

Smokenstein & monster crew
07-12-2012, 03:20 PM
Am i the only one who tries new recipes that have never been tried at comps ? I am an all around good cook. Sunday gravy with pasta, Chicken whatever, fish.. i know flavors & how to cook.
Every comp i have entered, which is under two handfuls, i have tried new stuff, winged it, but I am also doing this for the fun of BBQ, and the memories it makes for my family etc etc not treating this like a business (as some do)...

SO who rolls the dice ??

& I will be rolling the dice at BOTB6...so if i beat ya, know i winged it :wacko::-P

The_Kapn
07-12-2012, 03:28 PM
Always "fun" to do that, if not profitable. :grin:

What is " BOTB6" ???

TIM

Sledneck
07-12-2012, 04:16 PM
Would be easier and more fun to sit in my backyard ,get drunk and throw $800 in the outdoor firepit .

Sledneck
07-12-2012, 04:17 PM
Always "fun" to do that, if not profitable. :grin:

What is " BOTB6" ???

TIM

Battle of the brethren 6

Podge
07-12-2012, 05:19 PM
I've done it more than I would admit to.

Shady
07-12-2012, 05:51 PM
I have tried new additions to evil bird as nothing seems to work. Pork, beef , and ribs are locked in.

Red Valley BBQ
07-12-2012, 05:58 PM
You'll never know if a recipe will work in competition unless you actually USE it in competition. BUT, only if cooked once or twice at home so you know the flavor profile, etc going into the comp. Cooking a recipe for the first time at a comp is just crazy talk!!!!! :der:

ique
07-12-2012, 06:44 PM
I do it all the time with flavors but usually stick to tried and true cooking methods.

Q-Dat
07-12-2012, 07:33 PM
I think I remember hearing or reading once where Myron tries new things at small comps, but uses his tried and true recipes for the big ones.

Smokin' Gnome BBQ
07-12-2012, 08:05 PM
doing it this weekend (again) in Gettysburg PA, big comp with big names...I hope they have a beer tent!

Smokin' Gnome BBQ
07-12-2012, 08:06 PM