PDA

View Full Version : Picked up a 55 Gallon Drum, liner?

SmokeGut
07-09-2012, 03:46 PM
I just picked up used 55 gallon steel drum, that was used to store grape jelly. I am new to this but plan on making an UDS with this drum. It seems to have a orangish/redish inside. Do I have to start a fire and burn this all off, or use some other method, or just leave it? What would happen if I left this inside and just cooked with it still in there? Is this bad to do? How hard is this going to be to remove if it needs to be? Sorry for the 100 questions, just want to make sure I do this right.:confused:

Thanks!

ClintHTX
07-09-2012, 04:14 PM

4uweque
07-09-2012, 04:19 PM
The best thing to do is have it sandblasted, you do have the lined drum and it needs to be removed.

SmokeGut
07-09-2012, 04:20 PM
Ok, so do you guys think a weed burner torch is the best method?

yakdung
07-09-2012, 04:30 PM
It took me about three pallets, weed burner and a orbital sander to remove the epoxy phenolic coating. It would be cheaper in my view, to purchase a brand new drum considering all of the time and energy spent.
Good luck,

SmokeGut
07-09-2012, 04:40 PM
If I bought a brand new drum and then all the parts to build it i could just buy a WSM

yakdung
07-09-2012, 05:12 PM
If I bought a brand new drum and then all the parts to build it i could just buy a WSM

Yes. You are a very smart man. I went down the road you are now traveling and discovered this through time and effort. I also discovered that the UDS is a bear to keep temperatures from swinging. Don't get me wrong, I love my UDS, but I am now a proud owner of a 22.5 WSM. The UDS could benefit from a guru of some sort to monitor temps. I wanted low and slow without having to baby sit the cooker. Now I just have to figure out which guru to buy.

Good luck,

Bludawg
07-09-2012, 05:46 PM
JM2C trade it for an unlined drum.

SmokeGut
07-09-2012, 05:57 PM
JM2C trade it for an unlined drum.

Whats JM2C?