PDA

View Full Version : New Smoker with prep questions

CrispyRibs
06-18-2012, 06:53 PM
Hi All,

I am a newbie to smoking. I live out in the desert-boonies and fire restrictions are part of my life for more than six months of the year. I wanted to give smoking ribs and meats a try so here's what I did. Please spare me the ridicule for the cheap smoker, but I am retired on a very short income, and I gotta make do with what I gotta make do with.

http://s1224.photobucket.com/albums/ee363/MyPics4Me/Smoker/

The hotplate conversion and the retaining box gives me a steady 220F at the top rain, wind hail or shine. As you can also see the ribs do not look so shabby for a first try.

However, they had a tough skin (not the membrane) but all over. It was paper thin but like leather. Fortunately it peeled off like sausage skin. The meat was moist and very tasty, so no complaints there.

I didn't have the fixins for a dry rub so I used a BBQ sauce and liberally slopped it around then cooked for six hours.

Can anyone throw some light on what caused the tough skin?

Also how does one estimate cooking times? I have some turkey thighs from the freezer that will go in tomorrow. I will have dry rub by then.

Thanks

Dave

superlazy
06-18-2012, 07:00 PM
http://i1224.photobucket.com/albums/ee363/MyPics4Me/Smoker/SMOKE2.jpg

http://i1224.photobucket.com/albums/ee363/MyPics4Me/Smoker/SMOKE3.jpg

http://i1224.photobucket.com/albums/ee363/MyPics4Me/Smoker/Smokerfirstribs01small.jpg

Mark M
06-18-2012, 07:26 PM
I'm no ribs expert, so sorry, can't help you there. But hey, excellent effort and I think it's cool that you're trying your best with what'cha got. Good luck!

El Ropo
06-18-2012, 07:29 PM
Pure genius on the conversion, but I'd recommend figuring out a way to get your temps at cooking grate higher, like 250.

If you are using water in the pan, maybe ditch the water and cover pan with foil for easy cleanup.