PDA

View Full Version : Questions for 1st smoker.

sash501
05-27-2012, 02:53 PM
Greetings Brethren,

I'm a newb when it comes to smoking. Over the past two years, I've settled with smoking chips on a char-broil grill. For those of you who have started with this method, you know from experience that it only takes you so far. As such, I decided that this will be the first Ultimate Summer of Legendary BBQ and a smoker is needed; originally thinking I would go with a traditional horizontal smoker.

I stumbled upon the Char-Broil CB600X for $145 at wally world and thought it looked like a good starter smoker, and was impressed with the vertical style. Because it's 2012 and we carry computers in my pocket I was smart enough to look for reviews on it, and stumbled upon this forum amongst others. I'm happy I did! This smoker hasn't received the best reviews so it seems like I've dodged a bullet. I was also looking at the Brinkmann 810-5502-W, but couldn't find much on it.

What I have learned thus far, is that I think I want to go with a vertical (my needs are more recreational) because I really like the idea of starting the night before and sleeping through the night; it seems like verticals require less attention. It also seems that the WSM is the way to go. So onto the questions (I've noticed that a couple threads get a little off topic, so I'm going to number them and would ask that you answer in numbered format as well, thanks).

1. Is the WSM, the recommended smoker to start out on? Or do you recommend another?
2. If so, do I need the Rapid Fire Chimney Starter? Why or Why Not?
3 My house has a gas line which I use for my grill. Anyway I can utilize this on a WSM or other smoker?
4. The goal is to smoke a small pig by the end of the summer. Can this be done on the WSM and if so, do I need the 18.5 or the 22.5?
5. Any other helpful advise is much appreciated.
6. Thank you all in advance.

MilitantSquatter
05-27-2012, 02:59 PM
1. WSM is a great smoker to start on