PDA

View Full Version : gettin started...

dtprkr
05-15-2012, 07:15 PM
Ok.. from the start. I have been cooking on my one touch grill for many years with great success and plenty of family compliments. Two weeks ago (when i joined this forum) I decided that its time for me to step up my game and learn more about what I have always been crazy about.... smokin and grillin. I've always cooked over direct heat and never have used any wood,lump charcoal or any thing of the sort. Its always been Kingsford for me. Im ready for a change!
I wanna use some different fruit woods and start to grill with indirect heat. Today I went out and purchased some rub (yardbird) along with some cherry wood chunks. My plan is to start with some baby backs (3 racks) on my weber kettle, over indirect heat for 2.5 hours then foil for 30 min, and then finish over direct for a short time, while maintaining a 250 temp. I plan to use Kingsford again but add cherry wood to go with. Could someone please give me some ideas on how much charcoal? Do i need to soak the wood chunks? When I foil the ribs do I put them meat side down? Should I use some different than Kingsford? Any ideas or comments to make this go smooth would be greatly appreciated.. thanks in advance!

Badgeman
05-15-2012, 07:27 PM
Welcome to the obsession. Soon you'll find you can't walk by a computer without logging in and seeing who's saying what. As far as your questions: I don't ever foil but I know alot of folks here do. I really feel that the simpler you can keep it, especially at this point, the better. I wouldn't mess with anything to make the cook more complicated your first go around. Just put 'em on, enjoy the smells, learn how it cooks low and slow, and enjoy the ride. When I made the shift from briq's to lump, the change was so dramatic that I never went back, so my guess is once you try it you'll never go back.