PDA

View Full Version : Doin some turkeys tomorrow any suggestions?

slowrollin
04-20-2012, 10:38 PM
Hey guys, im doin a couple of turkeys tomorrow to try out my new smoker. Any suggestions on cook time temp and seasonings? Its a homemade rotisserie with offfset fire box. Any thing would help. Its my first time smokin anything! Im poppin my smokin cherry tomorrow!

Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk 2

El Ropo
04-20-2012, 10:45 PM
Poultry skin doesn't take kindly to low temp cooking. Try to get the cooker up in the mid 300s or higher, otherwise, you'll be tossing the rubber skin!

I've never brined, but it apparently adds a lot of moisture to birds especially the white meat portions.

Happy Hapgood
04-20-2012, 10:51 PM
What El Ropo said for Sure. AND make Darn sure it internal temp deep within the breast and thigh is a Minimum of 165 degrees.

Should be a Great cook if you do these.

Midnight Smoke
04-20-2012, 10:54 PM
Best advice I can give is to follow the directions on the bag just like cooking in an oven. This will give you a nice tender Bird with a nice flavor of BBQ. I like Pecan wood for Smoke but most any wood will work great other than Mesquite. Just go easy on the Wood, Poultry takes on Smoke very easy and it is easy to Over Smoke it.

slowrollin
04-20-2012, 11:12 PM
Maybe i should get some pork buts instead..... Turkey doesnt sound to fun.

Midnight Smoke
04-20-2012, 11:22 PM
Maybe i should get some pork buts instead..... Turkey doesnt sound to fun.

That sounds like a plan! Hard to mess them up if you follow some simple steps and there is nothing like a nice 12 + Hour overnight cook.

El Ropo
04-20-2012, 11:35 PM
If by no fun, you mean a short cook to get the hang of your cooker, I don't get it. If you want a more daunting long cook, go for pork butts.