PDA

View Full Version : Tempature regulator for a Kamodo Joe

skippy
04-13-2012, 06:45 AM
Good morning everybody. I'd like to say hello I just registered and this is my first post. I have been fooling around with bar-b-que for a couple of years. About 3 weeks ago I bought a kamodo joe cooker. I was wondering if anybody else was using this type of cooker? I have two questions about it.

1) does anybody know if there is an in-expensive tempature regulator that will fit this style of cooker? I am not into competition, but I do like to cook a lot for family and friends, and I don't want to break the bank.

2) I am having a difficult time getting the cooker really fired up. I cannot seem to get the tempature much above 300 degrees. While that is good for brisket and pork not really good when you are trying to sear a good poter house steak.

Any tips or trick on either of these would be much apprecieated.

Code3BBQ
04-13-2012, 06:49 AM
For thermometers, I would go with a Maverick Et-73 or ET-732(new model). Both of these have wireless receivers allowing you to remotely monitor your pit temp and a single food IT. The new 732 has a little greater monitoring distance, I believe it's 300' vs 100' on the the 73. Hope this helps.

shirknwrk
04-13-2012, 07:13 AM
Fresh lump, vents wide open, lid up to start... 900+ should be no problem. I took the clip off the thermo on my BGE so I can remove it before doing a cleaning burn. If the top vent is removable on the KJ, take it off for high temp stuff...need all the air you can get! A kamado with the lid down, top off and vent wide open will roar audibly.

For long, long cooks I use a Guru DX...Adaptor fits lower vent... Hint... only open the Guru slide 1/4 the way... and barely crack the top vent... Let the fan do all the work..otherwise the natural draft of the kamado will make it impossible to keep temps down. You ARE using lump charcoal only...?

skippy
04-13-2012, 08:03 AM