PDA

View Full Version : Help a Newb out with buying first Backyard smoker

POS96GT
03-03-2012, 07:25 PM
Been reading the forum for about a month now and decided I want to buy a smoker. I don't need anything to Fancy. Just something that will get the job done. Something big enough for 2 briskets. Not sure if I want to use wood, lump or charcoal. Since I am a total Newb a smoker that is easy to figure out and easy to smoke on would be a plus. $400 is about the limit I am willing to spend. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Chef Jim
03-03-2012, 07:27 PM
This is a no brainer. A WSM. Room for lots of meat, easy to learn, lump or bricks. Buy one any you will love it.

BluegrassSmoke
03-03-2012, 07:27 PM
Build one? UDS....

txschutte
03-03-2012, 07:32 PM
If you're gonna buy, go Weber Smokey Mountain (22.5"). You can build a UDS for about 1/8th the price, but the flavor is much different.

AMROCKS
03-03-2012, 07:35 PM
This is a no brainer. A WSM. Room for lots of meat, easy to learn, lump or bricks. Buy one any you will love it.

+1... If you were willing to spend more like 800 I would say go for a Big Green Egg just for the flexibility. But for the price you can't go wrong with the Weber Smoky Mountain for sure.

jestridge
03-03-2012, 07:36 PM
i buy something cheap make sure you going to like it. Lot of people will start a new hobby and buy a bunch of expensive stuff then nver use it again

txschutte
03-03-2012, 07:38 PM
i buy sometime cheap make sure you going to like it. Lot of people will start a new hobby and buy a bunch of expensive stuff then nver use it again

However, with a WSM 22.5, he could recover about 75% of his costs if he listed it on EBay.

JMSetzler
03-03-2012, 07:41 PM
Just in case someone hasn't said it already, the 22.5 Weber Smokey Mountain or a two-rack ugly drum smoker is where you want to be. Two briskets is a lot of meat and you need a larger pit to do that much at one time.

Bbq Bubba
03-03-2012, 07:50 PM
You haven't built a drum yet?

POS96GT