PDA

View Full Version : a few new guy questions

Tony A
03-02-2012, 08:08 AM
Hey all forums seem awesome and very welcoming. Well if you read my cattle call post I'm new to grilling and got myself a smokey Joe gold grill. Went yesterday to my local bbq supply store and picked up a bag of porter coal lump charcoal. I have been doing a lot of reading and there's a lot of opinions of what fuel to use. I was originally gonna buy a bag of stubbs charcoal because its cheaper and I heard good reviews. As far as fuel for a new guy what would you guys suggest ? Also as I said I got a smokey Joe gold it seems a decent size fora few burgers but I want to know what bigger stuff I can grill/ smoke on there Ide like to do ribs and small pork butts

All comments and thoughts are welcome and any other tips for a new guy are always appreciated

bluetang
03-02-2012, 08:16 AM
For smoking, you could make one of these with your wsj:
http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showpost.php?p=1112416&postcount=4

Here's a build thread
http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=113381

1FUNVET
03-02-2012, 08:18 AM
I like Stubbs, but have no idea how it compares with the stuff ya bought because i've never seen that brand in my part of the woods.

Pyle's BBQ
03-02-2012, 08:22 AM
One thing to remember, when lighting your coals. Don't light them all, use the Minion Method to cook.

eddieh70301
03-02-2012, 08:22 AM
Wow, that Smokey Joe is pretty small. If you do ribs, you would probably have to cut the rack in half or use an empty soda or beer can and lay the rack over the can so that it would fit. I'm sure a small butt would fit but again you wld have to place the coal on one side. Butts and ribs may burn if you place the meat on top of the coal.
Also, you would probably have to set up your coal to one side of the grill and place the ribs on the opposite end.
I think the the Smokey Joe is more for grilling than smoking. I would try and get a WSM if you want to do some smoking.

Tony A