PDA

View Full Version : Complete Newb Needs Help with First Ever Pork Butt

ktkintner
03-01-2012, 12:06 AM
I am brand new to smoking, having never smoked anything before. I will be finishing up my UDS today and plan to season it with a fatty. This weekend though, I plan to try my hand at smoking a port butt. There are so many impressive recipes on this site that I just do not know where to begin. I would like to do something simple and classic I grew up in Western NC and just haven't found good BBQ since moving to FL which has pushed me to want to learn the fine art of smoking. Any tips on how to prep from brine to rub to sauce would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Kevin

Wampus
03-01-2012, 12:33 AM
I don't do a lot as far as trimming goes. I may remove the really thick part of the fat cap.

Well, if you wanna go simple, kosher salt & cracked pepper is simple.
One step up is seasoned salt (Like Lawry's or McCormick's) works well.
If you wanna layer on a little garlic powder or paprika or onion powder or all, that works too.
If you have any commercial rubs, try one of those.

Up to you really.

I usually put about 3 chunks of smokewood throughout the charcoal before I light it. Some will light the fire then throw on the wood. Light the smoker well ahead of time so that you get a nice clean fire with blue smoke. Then....get your smoker up to temp (225-250).

Place rubbed pork butt on smoker. If you have a remote thermometer, stick it in, not touching the bone but in the thick part of the meat. If you don't have one, it's not critical.

Lock down the smoker and maintain heat at desired temp. Now "traditionally", that's at somewhere between 220 and 240. You really go hotter, it's up to you. Many go with a 275 cook temp, which will speed things up. Then there's what's called Hot & Fast, which is above 300. Your first time out, I'd say keep it easy and go for 225. If your UDS wants to run a little hotter, don't stress....just let it go.