PDA

View Full Version : Wood for smoking in PA or NY

Specter
02-27-2012, 07:46 PM
I'm new to smoking meats and I'm looking for a place to get wood for use in my Char-Griller Smokin' Pro. I'm from Bradford County in North East PA, but I travel on I-81 up to Watertown on a pretty regular basis. If anyone has a recommendation for where to get wood it would be greatly appreciated! :pray:

nrok2118
02-27-2012, 07:50 PM
if you just need chunks your local home depot can help you out.

Also www.fruitawoodchunks.com is decently priced quality product:thumb:

caseydog
02-27-2012, 08:00 PM
You have all kinds of hardwoods and fruitwoods (nuts) growing in NE PA. Find a roadside firewood seller who knows his woods, and you should do fine.

For best results, decide what you want to buy, and go in search of it. Do a Google search on what woods grow in your area, and go find the ones you want.

I know all the trees that grow in my area, and where to find the trees that I want, that don't grow in my area. A little bit of research is easy, and you will never go without the woods you want.

I can get live oak and mesquite all over my area, and drive down to visit my high school buddies, and bring back a carload of pecan. All of it free.

Good luck with your quest, but don't get suckered into paying out the wazzo for wood you could get for cheap, or even free, if you just do a little research into what grows in abundance near where you live. I guarantee there are people lining up to charge you a bunch of money for wood that other people just want to get rid of.