PDA

View Full Version : Legless Dtch oven

jfletcher84
02-06-2012, 07:03 PM
My parents gave me a Bayou Classic dutch oven for christmas. I was all excited about it until I discovered it has no legs.:doh: I have no Idea how to use it. If someone can give me some advice it would be greatly appreciated.

NBBD
02-06-2012, 07:13 PM
3 rocks... thats how we did it growing up

The Pigman
02-06-2012, 07:13 PM
if using briquets under take 4 small like mushroom cans emty and put on ground and set it on top......legs

SDAR
02-06-2012, 07:14 PM
Few similar sized rocks for bottom heat and you're good to go. Most dishes take heat from the top anyway.

bluetang
02-06-2012, 07:15 PM
I'm new to the DO so I'm sure the more savvy will chime in. You could hang over a fire for sure, inside a smoker too, set over coals on a grill (oven for sure:shocked:). Donna actually gave me one for Christmas w/o legs and we ended up taking it back for one with the legs. I cooked some stuff with the charcoal over and under, she went out and bought me another size:thumb:

HeSmellsLikeSmoke
02-06-2012, 07:17 PM
Use it on the grill grate, oven and stove top. If it has a bail, hang it over coals from a tripod. Great for chili, stews and beans.

The Pigman
02-06-2012, 07:24 PM
www.scoutorama.com (http://www.scoutorama.com) boy scout reciepes for it.

cholloway
02-06-2012, 07:26 PM
I prefer a DO w/out legs. What good are they?

The Pigman
02-06-2012, 07:31 PM

???????????

cholloway
02-06-2012, 07:33 PM
as in... what purpose do they serve?????????????

jimithing78
02-06-2012, 07:33 PM
When I was in the boy scouts growing up we just buried them in the coals. All around and then piled some on top with a shovel. Of course being legless means you can put it on the stove and in your oven too. More flexible without the legs IMO.

Callahan-que
02-06-2012, 07:39 PM
as in... what purpose do they serve?????????????

They can be used on a stove top

cholloway
02-06-2012, 07:49 PM
So can a DO w/out legs.

Callahan-que