PDA

View Full Version : First Smoker

jpmor1
01-30-2012, 10:01 AM
I've been grilling for several years now, but wanted a pit with a little more room. I bought the $400 semi-cheapo Old Country Pecos offset smoker from Academy. After using it three times now, I can't seem to get the temperature up using only charcoal. A full chimney of charcoal won't even get me to 200. If I put a few sticks on it, it shoots up fine. Is it possible to get the temp up to 300ish using only charcoal? It doesn't appear that the door to the firebox seals really well. Could that be a problem too? I've got all the vents wide open, and the charcoal is burning well. Thanks in advance for the help.

Cack
01-30-2012, 10:14 AM
The fire box door I would think would be a factor but probably not a MAJOR issue. I know there's some around here with tricks to seal that up (wouldn't hurt to try)

If you're throwing some sticks in their and its spiking. Maybe do half a chimney and a stick or two.

It took me a while to learn where the median for my smoker was. Once you find it though you'll be set. Maybe one day you just sit out there and play with it. No food just a thermometer and wood/coal. Add some on different varieties and see how the temp reacts

HeSmellsLikeSmoke
01-30-2012, 10:23 AM
I am not sure I understand. Are you only using one full chimney of lit charcoal and then throwing on a few sticks of wood? No unlit charcoal in the firebox first?

jpmor1
01-30-2012, 10:35 AM
I am not sure I understand. Are you only using one full chimney of lit charcoal and then throwing on a few sticks of wood? No unlit charcoal in the firebox first?

I've done it both ways. Wouldn't putting lit charcoal on top of unlit charcoal only keep the temp down? Some of the heat would have to go toward lighting the unlit charcoal. Seems if it's a charcoal amount problem, I'd be better off just putting two chimneys of lit charcoal in there at the beginning.

HeSmellsLikeSmoke
01-30-2012, 11:33 AM