PDA

View Full Version : Cold Smoking smoke

Blardov
12-16-2011, 02:58 PM
Hi all! I'm very new to BBQ so I am still learning learning the lingo on top of learning how to smoke. Anyway...Smoking cheese this weekend and trying a practice run on my WSM. I'm wondering about the smoke. I placed in a coffee can...4 unlit, 3 lit and 1 half fist size chuck of grape wood. The smoke seems very thick (white) meaning not thin blue like when smoking meat. Temp after an hour is steady at 73 degrees.

Given the smoke, does this mean it is not a clean fire and is it because the temp is so low? I know for cold smoking I need to be under 80 but I am curious to know if I am running a bad cook or not.

Any thoughts/suggestions are appreciated.

thirdeye
12-16-2011, 07:10 PM
By "lit" I'm guessing your talking about briquettes?

When I do a cold smoke with charcoal I light a few small pieces of lump with a torch and use a small amount of chips. I don't worry about opening the lid to add a few more chips from time to time (or another piece of lit lump) as I'm more concerned with smoke than heat. Meaning any heat that escapes is okay by me.

Folks that use briquettes generally start a couple of them and let them ash over, then add some chips.

Whichever method, if your smoke is white, thick or bitter.... your fire and/or draft is not right. Maybe a few more holes in your can are needed. It was a good idea for you to do a practice run without cheese on board.

Hoss
12-16-2011, 08:44 PM
By "lit" I'm guessing your talking about briquettes?

When I do a cold smoke with charcoal I light a few small pieces of lump with a torch and use a small amount of chips. I don't worry about opening the lid to add a few more chips from time to time (or another piece of lit lump) as I'm more concerned with smoke than heat. Meaning any heat that escapes is okay by me.

Folks that use briquettes generally start a couple of them and let them ash over, then add some chips.