PDA

View Full Version : Water smoker

Brauma
06-12-2005, 10:37 PM
Hey guys, I have been trying the search thing looking for an explanation of how water smokers work. But I struck out. Can anyone give me the scoop?

I saw a guy in a Q competition on FoodTV and he was putting apple juice in his smoker. So it must not be a closed water system.

thillin
06-12-2005, 11:15 PM
Banderas are water smokers. The water in the pan works like a heat sink to stabilize and mainatain temps. It also keeps it a moist heat.

I'm no expert, but this is the best I can tell.
Your mileage may vary!

Ty

BBQchef33
06-13-2005, 12:00 AM
Thats it, the water pan acts as a heat sink. Hleps stabilize temps as well as aid in faster heat recovery when opening the door. there are 2 schools of thought as far as humidifing the chmber, some say it doesnt do anything as far as adding moisture to the meat. IMHO, it has to do something,...... that moisture should at least aid in keeping the outside of the meater moister than if it wasnt there. For those that dont think it adds flavor, throw a few stalks of rosemary in the water pan and then add some plain unseasoned chicken breasts. When u taste that chicken, u will change your mind.

I used to use apple juice, but found it to be just wasting apple juice. Wasnt potent enuf to taste anything.

Jorge
06-13-2005, 12:13 AM
Thats it, the water pan acts as a heat sink. Hleps stabilize temps as well as aid in faster heat recovery when opening the door. there are 2 schools of thought as far as humidifing the chmber, some say it doesnt do anything as far as adding moisture to the meat. IMHO, it has to do something,...... that moisture should at least aid in keeping the outside of the meater moister than if it wasnt there. For those that dont think it adds flavor, throw a few stalks of rosemary in the water pan and then add some plain unseasoned chicken breasts. When u taste that chicken, u will change your mind.