PDA

View Full Version : Routing temp probs WSM?


kpdiver
11-20-2011, 05:55 PM
I have an 18.5 WSM, a Pitmaster iQ 110 amd the Maverick ET-732 and was wondering how most of you would rout all of your probes into the smoker? I have been just running them all through the top vent but it's a pain when I have to remove the lid for whatever reason. I obviously don't want to damage the wires so I have refrained from just setting the lid on them. Has anyone drilled holes in the middle section just below the lid and inserted some type of grommet to protect the wires and help seal it off? Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

KP

JONESY
11-20-2011, 06:07 PM
I used a pneumatic cut off wheel and cut a small slot in my center section, making sure not to cut into the surface that the dome seals on. After a few cooks and some seasoning it doesn't leak anymore than stock. I can fit my IQUE wire and two thermo wires easily. If I wasn't holding a crying 4 month old, I'd go take a picture.

caseydog
11-20-2011, 06:13 PM
I have the same setup, and I looked at all the options, and I currently have my iQue110 probe attached to the Weber thermometer probe.

I know, from the Virtual Weber Bullet website how much the temperature drops from the dome to the first shelf, and to the second shelf. So, I know where to set my iQue.

And, removing my lid is no big deal. There is plenty of cable. Attaching my probe to a cooking grate was going to be a big deal, IMO.

As long as I know the difference in temps between the dome and the two cooking grates, I'm fine.

CD

NorthwestBBQ
11-20-2011, 07:22 PM
Use Sensor Grommets.

Sensor Grommets allow temperature sensors to easily pass through the side of your cooker. Don't risk damaging your temperature sensor wires by putting them through an access door or hassle removing them every time you open the top.

These are designed to fit Weber Smokey Mountain cookers. They replace the screws that hold the grill brackets in place. Two grommets per package.

https://www.rocksbarbque.com/images/products/8001.jpg

https://www.rocksbarbque.com/Accessories.html

kpdiver
11-20-2011, 07:24 PM
I used a pneumatic cut off wheel and cut a small slot in my center section, making sure not to cut into the surface that the dome seals on. After a few cooks and some seasoning it doesn't leak anymore than stock. I can fit my IQUE wire and two thermo wires easily. If I wasn't holding a crying 4 month old, I'd go take a picture.

I'm in no hurry so if you would happen to take a picture later send it on. :-D
Thanks and enjoy that 4 month old. :clap2:

I have the same setup, and I looked at all the options, and I currently have my iQue110 probe attached to the Weber thermometer probe.

I know, from the Virtual Weber Bullet website how much the temperature drops from the dome to the first shelf, and to the second shelf. So, I know where to set my iQue.

And, removing my lid is no big deal. There is plenty of cable. Attaching my probe to a cooking grate was going to be a big deal, IMO.

As long as I know the difference in temps between the dome and the two cooking grates, I'm fine.

CD


That's another option thank you.

kpdiver
11-20-2011, 07:26 PM
Use Sensor Grommets.

Sensor Grommets allow temperature sensors to easily pass through the side of your cooker. Don't risk damaging your temperature sensor wires by putting them through an access door or hassle removing them every time you open the top.

These are designed to fit Weber Smokey Mountain cookers. They replace the screws that hold the grill brackets in place. Two grommets per package.

https://www.rocksbarbque.com/images/products/8001.jpg

https://www.rocksbarbque.com/Accessories.html


Those look slick. I'll be checking those out. Thank you. :thumb:

steve6402
11-20-2011, 07:49 PM
Will try on my UDS