PDA

View Full Version : New smoker

Oldpro1946
10-04-2011, 12:16 PM
I am new to this discussion board and to using a smoker. Just bought a Smoke Hollow electric smoker and wish to use it tonight. Going to smoke some St. Louis ribs. I am not sure how long to smoke them, I have read anywhere from 2 hrs to 8 hrs. I plan to make a mop sauce that I am going to spray on them every 45-60 min. Apple cider vinegar and vegetable oil. I am also going to use apple wood chips. I could use some advice/tips. Thanks.

Ron_L
10-04-2011, 12:20 PM
The time depends on the weight of the ribs and the cook temp, and then whether you a going to foil or not. I cook St. Louis trimmed spares at 250 for about 5 - 5 1/2 hours for an average rack with out foil, and a total of about 4 1/2 using foil (2 1/2 no foil then 1.5 in foil and then 15 minutes or so out of foil to set the glaze.

Divemaster
10-04-2011, 12:23 PM
First of all Welcome to the Addiction!!!!

The first thing you are going to need to do is cure your new smoker. Spray down the inside of the cooker with 'Pam' and let it cook with the racks but other wise empty for an hour minimum at 300* (2 hours would be better but that's just me).

As for the ribs, I like to cook mine for about 6 hours at 250* but there are others that have methods just as good.

Jason TQ
10-04-2011, 12:24 PM
Welcome!! I too started with an electric smoker and liked how easy it was to use. I normally run st louis ribs around 225-240ish for 5-6hrs. Each smoker does cook a little differently so I would say start checking around 5hrs at that temp to see if they are done. The meat should be pulled back from the bones and there is a bend test where the ribs bend down about 90 degrees. There is a good picture of it in the link below toward the bottom of the page. Good luck and ask more questions if you have them.

http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=45468

deguerre
10-04-2011, 12:27 PM