PDA

View Full Version : what probe do you guys use


bmmat
08-24-2011, 04:50 PM
in order to not open my lid and keep temp, I need a good probe either wired or wireless what do you guys suggest

landarc
08-24-2011, 05:00 PM
I use a Maverick wireless when I use on at all. I forget what model number.

aquablue22
08-24-2011, 05:09 PM
i use whatever was on sale at HD or Lowes and have 5 of them, I check them for accuracy and then adjust, all are wired.

Plus I have a super fast,super accurate GREEN Thermapen for final analysis......

Redfish1
08-24-2011, 05:39 PM
maverick,let the machines do the work.:-P

Amazon.com: Maverick Remote Smoker Dual Probe Wireless Thermometer ET-73: Kitchen & Dining@@AMEPARAM@@http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/41jimn6iFjL.@@AMEPARAM@@41jimn6iFjL (http://www.amazon.com/Maverick-Remote-Smoker-Wireless-Thermometer/dp/tags-on-product/B0044FFUMK)

bmmat
08-24-2011, 05:52 PM
I hope this is not a silly question but I heard the smoker can damage the wires on the thermometers is this true

azken
08-24-2011, 06:04 PM
I use a Maverick 732 and really like it...can sit in the house and watch the temps and chase potential problems quickly. Purchased from an advertiser on this site.

OL' Timer
08-24-2011, 06:09 PM
I use a Maverick 732 and really like it...can sit in the house and watch the temps and chase potential problems quickly. Purchased from an advertiser on this site.It sure is better than the old one with a 5 ft range:clap2:

jmellor
08-24-2011, 06:10 PM
+ 1 on the maverick 732. PM steve at 5-0 BBQ. He will hook you up.

Smoker101
08-24-2011, 06:18 PM
yes i got my maverick 732 from steve at 5-0 bbq.. also they have the BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER!!!

miamirick
08-24-2011, 06:59 PM
i like this one

jestridge
08-24-2011, 07:01 PM
Never use them!!!Just another gadget to worry with.Less is better

bmmat
08-24-2011, 07:12 PM
do I need to protect the cables or probes when using them on the smoker

humdogj
08-24-2011, 07:14 PM
+1 on the Maverick ET 732. Just got it and it is awesome. So far, totally reliable and great range. I heard about having to mod the old one and I just didn't feel like it. Worth the money in the long run.

jmellor
08-24-2011, 07:19 PM
do I need to protect the cables or probes when using them on the smoker

Just wipe them clean and don't submerge them in water and you should be OK. They are made for cooking so using them in the smoker works fine from my experience.

J'ville Grill
08-24-2011, 07:19 PM
I have a Taylor and a Maverick Redicheck (or whatever it's called). Both of them have stainless steel braided cables.

bbqchicken
08-24-2011, 07:28 PM
last night I looked around amazon for a while and settled on maverick et 73. It seems I made the right choice after reading this thread. :-D