PDA

View Full Version : Lobster

Oliverbbq
08-23-2011, 11:47 AM
I have a question. Me and my girl are going up north and staying in a cabin for a few days for our anniversary. We are mostly going to go out to eat but I'd like to cook her a meal while we're up there. I thought lobster wouldn't be to shabby, but I have no experience with seafood. Does anybody have a quick (good) recipe for throwin down on some lobster? The cabins have gas grills and stoves so that's what I have to work with. Any suggestions would be much appreciated. Thanks.

J'ville Grill
08-23-2011, 12:04 PM
If it's like Maine lobster I'd steam it and serve with drawn butter.

deguerre
08-23-2011, 12:06 PM
We started a thread asking a similar question and got some really good suggestions:

http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=112890

Oliverbbq
08-23-2011, 12:10 PM
We started a thread asking a similar question and got some really good suggestions:

http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=112890

Thank you. Funny actually.. I posted in that thread and forgot about it.

deguerre
08-23-2011, 12:37 PM
Thank you. Funny actually.. I posted in that thread and forgot about it.

So you did!:becky:

Redhot posted the cook thread...this is what we decided to do.

http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=113376

No reason you couldn't use a gas grill with a foil bomb for a little smoke flavor.

jmellor
08-23-2011, 01:51 PM
I think it depends on what you have to work with. I think Redhot did lobster tails. If you have Maine lobster here is what I do...it's more humane than it sounds...But can look a little barbaric.

First you need to kill the lobster by quickly inserting a sharp knife in the back of it's head. Or you can drop it into some boiling water for a few minutes.

Then twist the claws off. Then cut the entire body in half lengthwise from head to tail. Clean out the insides and membrane. Baste the meat side of the halves with butter.