PDA

View Full Version : Thank you..took the WSM Camping

basuraman
08-22-2011, 05:49 PM
I want to thank the Brethren and this site for the knowledge. I am new to the smoking thing and have done some ribs and such for the family. Everyone at home has like it. For some stupid reason I suggested that I could take care of some of the dinners on a camping trip with some buddies. It all turned out better than I could have hoped.
First night was a Bacon Explosion. It took about 3 hours to smoke and about three minutes to disappear. After the Bacon explosion was off I took out the middle section and dropped the rack down and grilled a tri-tip. (It was a pre-marinated one from Costco. Not my choice but I was not buyin.g)
Night number two was ribs. We did 6 racks of babybacks with 5 different rubs between them. This was the first time that I used both the bottom and top rack. The ribs were a hit. And this with a bunch of guys with enough drink in them to lose there politeness filter.

I did learn a few things.

1. Bring gloves. (I might install handles on the middle section)
2. Never quote a done time.
3. Too much beer and hot smoker do not always go well together. Burnt finger to show for it. (See #1)
4. I am going to do this again. Having some good BBQ wins over what we normally eat out in the woods.

No shots of the food. I was too busy working..

http://images.instagram.com/media/2011/08/22/e067e6a2c73b48dcbfbc80c0660e1648_7.jpg

Brian in Maine
08-22-2011, 05:52 PM
That's roughing it easy! Nice job.

Parruthead
08-22-2011, 07:59 PM
Nice.. I bought both of my WSM's to the Gun Club for a shoot this weekend. I smoked Chicken legs, ABT's and Moink balls for the guys!! They travel well!!

forgop
08-22-2011, 08:05 PM
3. Too much beer and hot smoker do not always go well together. Burnt finger to show for it. (See #1)